How to Apply for your Concealed Handgun Permit (CCW) in Colorado

The process to apply for your CCW permit in Colorado is very simple and pretty straight forward. First we need to identify if you can even OBTAIN your handgun permit.

Understand Colorado is a SHALL issue state and so long as you meet the states MINIMUM requirements, the state SHALL issue you your permit (meaning they have to give it to you.) That law specifically C.R.S. 18-12-201 (3)

The Requirements are the following…
– Legal resident state of colorado
– 21 Y/O or older
– Capable to purchase a handgun and complete a form 4473
– Never been convicted of Prejury
– Not under investigation or have been charged for a crime of violence
– No restraining orders both criminal/Civil.

– Not an unlawful user of drugs or alcohol (gone to rehab, Medical Marijuana card, etc.)

– Not declared mentally adjudicated (Forced to a mental health institution against your will)

– No more than 2 alcohol related incidents (DUI, etc.)

 

For a majority of people, it’s pretty easy to get this far. Now the part that separates a CHP holder and a regular gun owner is PROOF OF Training. The law states you must provide proof of training from a handgun training class obtained within the last 10 years. So you have to take a recognized course, and then you will be able to obtain your permit.

So long as you meet the states minimum requirements and have taken a handgun training class, you will need to bring some stuff with you. Those will be: Certificate of competition which needs to be SIGNED and DATED by instructor. Your name should be Clearly PRINTED, not signed. Proof of Residency (easiest way is State ID with up to date information) you can also use vehicle registration, utility bill etc. You’ll be requested to Pay up to $152.50. 1 charge is for a Colorado Bearur of Investigations to conduct a background check. (hence the finger prints) and the other charge is for a processing fee which goes to the issuing sheriffs office.

After that, you must apply at the county sheriffs of where you reside or where you own business. You only need 1 permit for the whole state. Pick whichever one is easiest for you. The sheriff is the one who issues you the permit and it is good for 5 years at a time. You will need to renew every 5 years when it expires. The 2 exceptions will be if one lives in Denver county or in Broomfield. For Denver residents, you will apply to Denver Police Head Quarters. Broomfield residents will apply at Broomfield Police Head Quarters. Everyone else is County Sheriffs office of residence or own business.

Do take note, every issuing government agency processes applications differently. Some may request that you mail in an application first, some may have you call in for an appointment, others may have an online appointment registration to set up for an appointment. None the less, you will be looking to set up an appointment because the process needs to be done in person and you will need an appointment.

Once you turn your application in, the sheriff may take up to 90 calendar days to issue you your permit. It will come via mail. If you get denied, you will receive a rejection letter and information on why and how to appeal that.

So, to recap. You need to be a normal person with no outstanding crime of violence issues or perjury. Take a handgun training class as defined by C.R.S. 18-12-202. Apply at Sheriff office, go in and pay, and then wait for it to come in the Mail.

I have linked to all of Colorado sheriffs office websites to start the process for you to help expedite the process for you. If you have any questions please feel free to email me and I will do my best to help you out.

Thank you!

Isaac
Owner/Operator
Denver Firearms Training LLC.
“For the preservation of Life, Liberty, and Pursuit of Happiness.”

 

Adams County –
https://www.adamssheriff.org/new-concealed-handgun-permits

Alamosa County – Call to get more information. Their Facebook says it might be a walk in basis, CHP+:(719) 589-3658

Arapahoe County – Walk-ins welcome. https://www.arapahoegov.com/897/Concealed-Handgun-Permits

Archuleta County – https://www.archuletacounty.org/270/Concealed-Handgun-Permits

Baca County – https://www.bacacountyco.gov/departments/sheriffs-office/

Bent County – https://bentsheriff.com/concealed-carry/

Boulder County – Call to make an appointment https://www.bouldercounty.org/safety/firearms/concealed-handgun-permit/

Broomfield County – Online Registration https://www.broomfield.org/1309/Concealed-Handgun-Permits

Chaffee County – http://chaffeesheriff.org/records/concealed-carry/

Cheyenne County – https://www.cheyennesheriffcolorado.com/concealed-carry.html

Clear Creek County – https://www.co.clear-creek.co.us/767/Concealed-Handgun-Permit

Conejos County – https://www.conejoscounty.org/departments/elected/sheriff

Costilla County – https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/costillacounty/sheriff

Crowley County – Call for further information 719.267.5555 x3

Custer County – Call for further information (719) 783-2270

Delta County – https://www.deltacounty.com/82/Concealed-Handgun-Permit

Denver County – https://www.deltacounty.com/82/Concealed-Handgun-Permit

Dolores County – Call for further information 970-677-2257

Douglas County – https://www.dcsheriff.net/sheriffs-office/divisions/support-services/civil/concealed-handgun-permits/

Eagle County – https://www.eaglecounty.us/sheriff/concealedhandgunpermits

El Paso County – https://www.epcsheriffsoffice.com/services/concealed-handgun-permit

Elbert County – https://elbertcounty-co.gov/185/Concealed-Handgun-Permits

Fremont County – https://fremontco.com/sheriff/concealed-handgun-permits

Garfield County – http://www.garcosheriff.com/PDFs/GCSO_CCW_Info_Packet.pdf

Gilpin County – https://www.gilpincountysheriff.com/concealed-handgun-carry-permit

Grand County – https://co.grand.co.us/359/Concealed-Handgun-Permits

Gunnison County – https://www.gunnisoncounty.org/220/Concealed-Handgun-Permitting

Hinsdale County – https://hinsdalecountysheriff.com/concealed-handgun-permit

Huerfano County – https://www.huerfano.us
Jackson County – https://jacksoncountycogov.com/sheriffs-department/

Jefferson County – https://www.jeffco.us/677/Concealed-Handgun-Permits

Kiowa County – http://kiowasheriff.co/colorado-concealed-carry/
Kit Carson County – https://www.kccsheriff.com

La Plata County – https://www.co.laplata.co.us/divisions/administration/concealed_weapons.php

Lake County – https://www.lakecountyco.com/administration/pages/concealed-handgun-permit
Larimer County – https://www.larimer.org/sheriff/support-services/concealed-handgun-permits

Las Animas County – http://lasosheriff.org/forms.php

Lincoln County – http://lincolnsheriff.net/FORMS.html

Logan County – http://www.logancosheriff.com/chp/chp.htm

Mesa County – https://sheriff.mesacounty.us/services/concealed-handgun-permit/

Mineral County – Call for info  (719) 658-2600

Moffat County – http://www.moffatcountysheriff.com/ccw.html

Montezuma County – http://www.montezumasheriff.org/concealed-weapons/

Montrose County – https://montrosecountysheriffsoffice.com/permits-and-fees/

Morgan County – https://morgansheriff.net/docs/CWP.pdf

Otero County – Call for info  (719) 384-594

Ouray County – http://ouraycountyco.gov/378/Concealed-Handgun-Permit

Park County – https://parkco.us/147/Concealed-Handgun-Permit

Phillips County – https://pcsheriff.us/services/concealed-handgun-permits/

Pitkin County – https://pitkincounty.com/177/Concealed-Handgun-Permit

Prowers County – https://cms.revize.com/revize/prowerscounty/document_center/Sheriff/Concealed_Carry_Permit_Application.pdf

Pueblo County – https://www.pueblosheriff.com/278/Concealed-Handgun-Permit

Rio Blanco County – https://rbc.us/473/Concealed-Carry-Weapons

Rio Grande County – Call for info 719-657-4000

Routt County – https://www.co.routt.co.us/393/Concealed-Handgun-Permit

Saguache County – Call for info 719-655-2544

San Juan County – Call for info (970)387-5531

San Miguel County – https://www.sanmiguelcountyco.gov/264/Concealed-Handgun-Permit

Sedgwick County – https://sedgwickcounty.colorado.gov/concealed-weapons-information

Summit County – https://www.summitcountyco.gov/296/Concealed-Handgun-Permits

Teller County – https://www.tellercountysheriff.com/concealed-handgun-permits

Washington County – https://www.washcountysheriff.com/concealed-handgun-permit/

Weld County – https://www.weldsheriff.com/services/concealed_handgun_permit
 
Yuma County – http://yumacountysheriff.net/projects/concealed-handgun-permits/

 
 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *